5/28/09: Great Story Teller

Holy DELAY, Bat Man: I was informed yesterday that I hadn’t provided enough denim to complete my order.

Note: This is just one of the many problems that can occur during production. Anyway…

So I immediately put in a RUSH order for more denim yesterday. I’m hoping that production remains on schedule in spite of this. If not, then I’ll give the buyers an advanced “heads-up”. In any case, I don’t foresee this being much of a problem. Things could’ve been worse; much worse.

I’ve learned to engage problems more effectively through the process of running my own company. In fact, one of the great gifts that oneculture has given me is a sound sense of optimism. This doesn’t mean that I don’t get the blues sometimes; after all, I’m human. But I’ve learned not to carry negativity as it’s both unhealthy and unproductive. I don’t have the power that money & connections bring. But what I do have is a knack for communicating ideas through art and the potential to create something just as good (better, even!) than my fiercest competitors.

Additionally, I keep a laser-like focus on my overall goal. Ultimately, what I’m trying to do with oneculture is to share *my* stories with people. So, naturally, my sole focus lies with becoming a great story-teller. Quality construction & fabrics are merely added bonuses within my grand scheme.

INSPIRATION

INSPIRATION

I’ve drawn the conclusion that I must be on the right track as I’ve received lots of positive feedback through random, private emails. The buyer from The Blues Jean Bar even informed me that people have already begun to trickle in, inquiring about my summer offering. One of the most rewarding feebacks I’ve received thus far came last season from Justin (“bilmaga” from the Nudie Jeans fan site, mynudies.com):

I have actually worn your jeans out a couple of times (as well as the shirt) and a lot of my friends really like them. They are interested in buying them…I have also had comments from perfect strangers about my jeans asking where I got them, and how much they liked them. I just thought you should know that as well. It is like getting a pat on the back for all the hard work you put into making oneculture. I have never before in my life had people that I never knew come up to me and ask me about my jeans, and I always wear high end denim. You should be proud!!!

This guy has an insanely large denim collection (100+ pieces); and I am proud to be apart of it. Anyway…

I just thought I’d share what’s been occupying my thoughts lately. Production wraps sometime around mid-June. I’ll keep you posted. Stay tuned!!

Cheers,

Mark

oneculture

For those who love jeans

About bartacker

I consider myself to be in the constant process of mastering the Art of Communication. View all posts by bartacker

One response to “5/28/09: Great Story Teller

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

