8/27/12: Certain Elements…

Hey, you guys!  Just popped in to fill you all in on the latest…

Okay, when we last left off I was faced with the challenge of trying to reach retail buyers.  Since then however, I’ve had a change of heart.  I had a long talk with an associate of mine.  She’s a local artist and former senior designer for Levi’s.  She suggested that I skip retailers altogether and simply “go it” alone.  It’s a huge risk.  But after giving the idea considerable thought, I’ve decided to do just that!

So now I plan to re-launch oneculture by launching my own official e-commerce website.  (*light bulb*) It makes perfect sense!!  After all, I had a blast with my makeshift “webshop” back in 2010/2011.  And at this point, rather than sell exclusively to retailers, I feel that it’s more important that I continue connecting directly with my customer base.  No sales agent will care as much as I do.  And as such, it is—as it should be–my responsibility to reintroduce my product.  For me, this is not about “sales” so much as it is about gaining a greater understanding of my market.

The downside here is that it’s going to take longer to get things up & running, as I’m going to have to rely on my own dime in order to fund the project.  In addition to production expenses, I’m also going to need a website; a real one, not a blog.  And for those who don’t know, I’m living paycheck to paycheck!  So again, progress is going to be slow-going.  It is what it is…

On the upside, editing is cheap:-)  And since I’m rather obsessive about my product I continue to tweak certain elements, and plan on doing so all the way up until the last moment–show time!  For instance, I’d decided to tackle a back-burner project: the redesign of my leather patch.  I commissioned Jimmy C. from the superfuture denim forums to help give my idea a graphic life.  I’ve always admired the work he did on the Dry Bones collaboration a couple of years ago. Anyway…after some going back & forth, we’ve just put the finishing touches on the second version of my patch.  Sweet!!  Just understand that whether my blog is updated or not, I’m still active.  My goal is to deliver a most superior product—a serious upgrade from the last Pulsar, for sure.

By the way, with regard to my initial plans, I still plan to pitch my brand to certain retailers when the time comes.  But again, I think it best at this point to serve my base directly.  Anyway, that’s about it for now.  Should anything noteworthy happen between now & then, I’ll keep you all posted.  Stay tuned!!

Join me on facebook

Cheers,
Mark
oneculture
For those who love jeans
mark@houseofoneculture.com

About bartacker

I consider myself to be in the constant process of mastering the Art of Communication. View all posts by bartacker

2 responses to “8/27/12: Certain Elements…

  • Raheem

    what does that mean 1 soak, 1 wash?

  • bartacker

    Hello, Raheem!

    It’s customary to soak unsanforized denim (denim that has not been pre-shrunk) before you begin wearing them in order to have the jeans shrink to fit your frame better.

    The Pulsars in the photo are made from sanforized, or “pre-shrunk” denim–14oz, Japanese selvedge. Although all denim shrinks once washed/soaked, sanforized denim need not be soaked, as the degree of shrinkage tends to be minimal. I soaked them simply to determine the degree of shrinkage of the fabric and how that affected the pocketing that I’m using.

    And the “wash” part means that I’ve only washed them once since I began wearing them “hard” (i.e., to work) almost 4 months ago. It’s normal for people to go long periods of time between washes in order to create cool fading patterns. Some people go longer than others; it’s really up to the individual. I hate doing laundry anyway, so washing infrequently is right up my alley, haha! I encourage people to wear the jeans often and wash *only* when necessary! In other words, if they’re dirty, then keep rockin’! On the other hand, if they’re really ripe/stinky, then go ahead and throw them into the washer! And hang dry only!

    By the way, if you bathe regularly (like I do!!), “ripeness” should never be a problem!

    I hope that you find this commentary helpful. If you have further questions, don’t hesitate to ask!

    Cheers,
    Mark
    oneculture

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

