11/22/07: For The Record…

For the record, I’m in the process of getting my first style ready for “market” in spring, 2008. My sample maker and I have just recently perfected the silhouette (yippee!!) and I am now hammering out the design details. There’s still a ways to go, however; I’m just hoping that we remain on schedule. It’s been a LONG time coming and the moment of truth is just around the corner (I can hear the drums rolling). I’m extremely exited, anxious, overjoyed and scared all at the same time. Everything has to be absolutely p-e-r-f-e-c-t.

I know that this information is very sudden, so let me back up…

The Saga Continues:
For those who visit my blog from time to time, believe it or not, the story of oneculture does continue! A multitude of things have happened since the time of my last journal entry (in 2005). Most of my time has been spent asking lots of questions and making lots of costly mistakes; in other words, most of my time has been spent LEARNING.

When I got the idea to manufacture jeans back in March, 2004 I knew 100% nothing about the process. In addition, my knowledge of designer jeans was embarrassingly antiquated; popular brands of the 70’s and 80’s like Sassoon, Jordache, Kalvin Klein, Levi’s and Lee (etc) come to mind. I’d always shopped at either Gap or Old Navy; I existed inside an outdated, low budget bubble. It still blows me away, the fact that this idea came to me in the midst of a total denim explosion that I had absolutely no knowledge of…wow. It just reinforces my belief that oneculture was destined to be.

What I did know was that I wanted to try and make the clothes (initially for myself) that I had always been accustomed to wearing, namely jeans and t-shirts. This became THE focus of my creativity. I had simply grown tired of wearing Old Navy jeans.

Blogging…let me explain:
One of the (many) lessons I’ve learned along the way is that I’m simply no good at keeping a journal. I’d put off documenting one “learning event” after another with the intent of updating my journal when I had both the time and the will; the ladder seems to have left sometime in 2005. The truth is that aside from all the issues associated with learning how to build a fashion empire (from scratch!), I also have a day job and both wear me down. As a result, I simply don’t feel like typing anything at the end of my day. There; I said it.

From this point on however, I will make an earnest commitment to update my blog with noteworthy items…scout’s honor.

Let’s play Catch-Up:
With respects to all that’s happened between 2005 and now, there’s simply too much to share. I’ve learned a lot over the years and I’m continuing to learn as I go along; I’ll never know everything. I can honestly say that, for me, the absolute worst part in this process has been the waiting. There have been plenty times where my project, for one reason or another, has been stalled for lengthy periods of time. And for those impatient types like me, these periods can be pure agony-seriously, folks!!!

It was during these times that I busied myself with research, marketing and promotion. I designed oneculture t-shirts, business cards and took photographs that would serve as the backdrop to what would eventually become my website. I now had tangibility; “branding tools” with which to connect with the public. I began spreading the word. I may not have had jeans but I found solace in the fact that I was moving forward in some way. And for the time being that was good enough.

My first prototype pair of jeans was–oh, my GODhideous! The pattern-maker was very condescending and the sewing contractors were terrible communicators, old-school and very forgetful. The experience made me realize just how difficult it was going to be to find the right people to help bring my vision to life. I was discouraged to the third power!!! In addition, I didn’t have an understanding of the sequential steps of this business so I wasted lots of time and money doing unnecessary things like buying fabric, for instance. Needless to say that these were not good times. More waiting; Ugh…

To make a long story short:
Fast forward and scroll up to the beginning of this post. Today (literally) I’m diligently refining the design details on my first style and getting oneculture ready to compete in the spring. There’s actually a tiny army of people waiting to view my collection and I can’t wait to unveil my masterpiece! I can’t wait…

FYI, the first season’s offering is going to be for men. I’m also in the process of creating a new design for oneculture t-shirts. The shirts are promotional items by the way, so they’re totally free to the denim-loving public-For those who love jeans.

Stay tuned (scout’s honor)!

Mark
oneculture

About bartacker

I consider myself to be in the constant process of mastering the Art of Communication. View all posts by bartacker

Leave a Reply

