1/18/09: True Underground Art

5 months, no wash

before and after: 5 months, no wash

Okay, so I’ve been wearing my Pulsars (version 1) almost daily for, like, 5 ½ months. Just thought I’d share the fade progress thus far…I haven’t washed them yet either by the way. They’re coming along quite nicely. I plan to retire (and perhaps even frame) them after the first wash. I’ll wash’em after my next production run. At that point I’ll be able to grab myself another pair! Speaking of which…

5-months-no-wash

Legs: 5-months-no-wash

I’m really anxious to get the new, updated pieces out into the market; I can’t stand it anymore!! With that said, I plan to try and do another small run (50 pieces or so) in a couple of months. My pattern maker is currently checking the graded markers for errors. The feedback I’ve received thus far has been overwhelmingly positive. Making ends meet in this crippled economy has been a challenge, but as long as there’s a market for my brand I’ll never be worried. oneculture is true underground art and it’s quite comforting to know that there are people who appreciate my work.

5 months no wash

Knees: 5 months no wash

The luxury of small business…

The good thing about being small is that I can do pretty much whatever I want. oneculture isn’t even a blip on the denim radar yet so there’s no real pressure for me at the moment. And I have very little so I have nothing significant to lose. Being unable to take large orders really does suck, but at the same time I’m enjoying myself just inching along and doing what I can afford. I’m focused solely on producing quality work…that’s it. Growth will occur over time. I’ll keep you all posted…stay tuned!!

Happy New Year,
Mark
oneculture
For those who love jeans

About bartacker

I consider myself to be in the constant process of mastering the Art of Communication. View all posts by bartacker

2 responses to “1/18/09: True Underground Art

  • Darryl

    Hi

    Great blog. Looks like you’re more involved in denim than most. I’m just starting out, but been looking around and pair of Pulsars 32W34L seems like the next pair on my shopping list. Is that even possible?

    Darryl

  • bartacker

    Darryl,

    I plan on doing another small production run in about three months. I’ll notify you once the next batch is out on the market. You’ll then be able to contact The Blues Jean Bar directly to order.

    Cheers,
    Mark
    oneculture

Leave a Reply

