9/6/2009: Living and LEARNING

oneculture is now on facebook!  I’m uncomfortable with the notion that people have to become “fans” however.  So just disregard the semantics; we’re all friends over there.  Join me!!


So, it’s been 2 ½ months now since oneculture summer 09’ hit sales floors.  And so far, the product is performing rather modestly…but consistently, which is a good thing!  The state of the economy has had a very negative affect on consumerism.  Add to that the fact that, without having had a marketing budget, oneculture seemingly appeared from thin air—the public still doesn’t know what it is!  So, all things being considered, I’m pleased with the performance thus far.  It makes me happy to know that people (complete strangers) are actually reaching pass the Nudies, the A.P.C.’s and the other more popular brands and grabbing a pair of onecultures.  It makes me happy to know that people are responding to what I’m doing…

…and things only get better from here!  These are my formative years.  The “big bang” occurred during the fall of 08’ and now everything is settling into place; taking its proper form.  One new element I’m excited about incorporating into my next production run is a signature leather patch.  The design concept is an absolute graphic statement of the oneculture ideology.  I can’t wait to see how it turns out!!

Anyway, aside from my company, and on a more personal note, I’ve been trying my best to make a way in this vicious economy.  Finding employment has never been such a problem before.  Nowadays however, with thousands of displaced workers competing for the same jobs, it’s a real-life nightmare!  Had I foreseen this a while back, I would’ve done certain things differently.  But “life” doesn’t come with an instruction manual; for the most part, you learn by screwing up! Anyway…

Stay tuned! I’ll keep you all posted.

Cheers,
Mark
oneculture
For those who love jeans

Available @ The BLUES Jean Bar:

1827 Union St
San Francisco, CA
(415) 346-4280

‎377 Santana Row
San Jose, CA 95128
(408) 899-4012

1409 Montana Ave
Santa Monica, CA 90403
(310) 656-7898

2210 N. Halsted Street
Chicago, IL 60614
(773) 248-5326

About bartacker

I consider myself to be in the constant process of mastering the Art of Communication. View all posts by bartacker

2 responses to “9/6/2009: Living and LEARNING

  • JB

    Hey Mark – Any chance these babies will get to NYC in 2010?

  • bartacker

    JB,

    Who knows; I never know what the following season holds until I come to it. However, my plans are to build up my rep/brand equity to such a point that I feel comfortable expanding to new territory. Most consumers simply follow trends so, given the fact that oneculture is still a very obscure brand, expanding this soon wouldn’t be a very wise move.

    I operate on a very small scale. And since I have no marketing budget or industry contacts I’m forced to rely on the sheer strength of my work (quality and style) in order to reach trend-setting consumers, who normally stimulate general consumer consciousness.

    oneculture is the wave of the future; it’s just going to take a bit of time for me to build things up from the grassroots.

Leave a Reply

